Let’s Talk About Dreams

17 Oct

 

Image

I do not recall when I first grasped that I was not one of those people who were destined to win a raffle draw at every funfair they attend. It’s good I realised that because for that reason I never play the lottery even though I still make plans of spending the money will win one day. I mean a girl can dream right? I do not play but I could still win. On an average a weekly player of the lottery here in the UK spends £150 a year!!! Yup and well last I checked there is a one in one million chance of winning the lottery, but on an average of 2 million play the lottery every day out of 62 million people in the UK. Okay that’s not so bad I am actually in the majority of cynical people, who have realised that they will have to work hard to get what they want in life, or have simply  decided to live of the government and tax payers by  receiving benefits for the rest of their life’s.

I have had this conversation with a lot of people I know that play the lottery and always tell them the odds of them winning, and even after they agree with me that they most likely will never win, it still does not stop them from playing. A line that stands out from one of these conversations I had was “well, you never know”. Yes that’s true you never know, but but BUT STILL! Some part of me just feels that I would not win because I do not deserve to, I have not had a near death experience, an abusive child hood, and I am definitely not mentally impaired so why would the forces of the earth just drop millions of pounds at my door step in exchange for £2.

Let me not deceive you into thinking that I am not a risk taker, because I actually play online poker and bet occasionally on football matches that I know nothing about on my Ladbrokes account, hey! You win some you lose some.

Are my dreams big? Yes they are even beyond massive. I just do not focus on easy ways to the top; I truly believe I have to start from the bottom. Something happened this year that made me realise that I was not thanking God enough for my present, but was too focussed making requests for tomorrow. It was a wakeup call when I realised that what you have now, no matter how little can be taken in an instance and until it’s gone you then realise it was not so bad after all.

Leave a comment